March 24, 2010

Response to the three multimedia articles

Posted in Reading Responses at 8:57 am by ahonan

I liked the amount of photos that were displayed in the Long Haul and Sides of the Wire but I wasn’t crazy about the way they displayed them. None of the photos had a lot of caption to it, so it made it easy for me to continue scrolling down through the pictures. I hate having that click for more button, I want to know how many pictures there are going to be, so I know how long it is going to take to look through them all. I didn’t finish looking at either site’s pictures.

For the Long Haul there were a lot of great pictures, but I didn’t like that most of them were in black and white, there were some that would have looked better in color. I like having the pictures in color because for some reason they seem more real to me, the black and white shots make it appear as if they could have happened in the past, not something that is happening right now. Some photos were too large to see all at once and I would have to scroll up and down to see the rest, that took away from some good pictures.  There was one collage of photos that was amazing, they were pasted together to create one huge photo, I think that had more effect then posting one photo of the same thing.

The writing in The Long Haul was very easy to read, even though there was a huge paragraph in the middle of the story that should have been broken up. It looked daunting to read just looking at the size of the thing. The Sides of the Wire wasn’t as easy to read about halfway through it I had to struggle to get to the end.

I really liked How I cover the Afghanistan War was set up. I liked having everything on the one page, it made me feel as if I wasn’t seeing some things over again. This way made the video and photos seem more connected to the story.

Links to original stories: The Long Haul , Sides of the Wire , & How I Cover the Afghanistan War with the 5dmkII

Leave a Reply

